Creating atlas from PVR file (Unity iOs)

This is the place to find out how to accomplish something specific with SM2.

Creating atlas from PVR file (Unity iOs)

Postby Lisan » Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:26 pm

Hello,

I'm new in this tool, just tried it for the first time. I have graphic file for game background (2048 x 2048), it's saved with PVRTC4 compression in PVR format (with PVRTexTool). Unity successfully improts it, but when i try to use it as static texture in PackedSprite, atlas building fails:
"InvalidCastException: Cannot cast from source type to destination type" in BuildAtlases.cs:677

If i use another texture instead of it (the same file in PNG, imported to Unity iOs with PVRTC4 setting) everything is fine, but Unity internal compressor gives rather bad image quality, that's why external tools is recommended for texture making. But how to use these files with Sprite Manager?
Lisan

Re: Creating atlas from PVR file (Unity iOs)

Postby Brady » Fri Apr 22, 2011 10:00 pm

That's odd, based on the line number, it looks like somehow Unity's texture importer is crapping out. I suppose that could make sense, if for some reason it doesn't recognize the texture format properly or something. Probably some quirk in their importer.

At any rate, you don't want to do it this way anyway. The reason is, assuming Unity could read the source texture correctly, it would generate a new atlas with that same texture in it, using its own compression. This compression would compound upon the original compression. You want your source textures to be uncompressed since they aren't used in the final build. Instead, the atlas is what is used, so that's what you want to compress. So you'll want to build the atlas, and then run it through whatever custom compressor you want to use.